Inquiry Reports

Under section 33 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005, we must report on the subject of the inquiries we make under section 28 if, as a result of our inquiries we:

  1. give a direction, or remove a charity from the Register under section 30
  2. suspend a person under subsection (4) of section 31, or
  3. give a direction under any of subsections (5) to (9) of section 31

You may see us refer to such Inquiry Reports as 'section 33 reports' because they have been produced as a result of the above legal requirements.

We can also choose to publish a report on the subject of any other inquiries we have made under section 28 - for example, an individual case may offer useful lessons for the wider sector.

We publish our Inquiry Reports for a 12 month period and gather together guidance and other useful examples in our Good Governance page, which will be active from January 2015.

 Inquiry reports

Charity: Fife Animal Trust

OSCR has concluded its inquiry into Fife Animal Trust under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005 (the 2005 Act. Recognising the public interest in this charity, we determined that a report of our findings should be published. The report outlines the reasons for our inquiry as well as its scope, full findings and conclusions.

Download the full section 33 report here.

Organisation: Campbell's Ozone Therapy Trust

As a result of inquiries made under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005 (the 2005 Act) it appears to OSCR that a body known as Campbell's Ozone Therapy Trust has been misrepresenting itself as a charity in Scotland. OSCR has taken action to stop the misrepresentation.

Download the full section 33 report here.

Organisation: The Highland Titles Charitable Trust for Scotland

As a result of inquiries made under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005 (the 2005 Act) it appeared to OSCR that a body known as The Highland Titles Charitable Trust for Scotland has been misrepresenting itself as a charity in Scotland, and OSCR issued a direction to stop the misrepresentation. Following a review, the decision to issue the direction has been reversed, and the direction has been withdrawn.

Download the full section 33 report here.

Charity: St Margaret's Children and Family Care Society

As a result of inquiries under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005, OSCR directed the charity under section 30(1)(a) of the Act to take steps to ensure that it met the charity test. On 11 February 2013 the charity requested a review of OSCR's decision. Having conducted the review, on 4 March 2013 OSCR confirmed its decision. The charity appealed to the Scottish Charity Appeals Panel and on 31 January 2014 SCAP issued its decision to quash OSCR's direction. OSCR has complied with this decision and is not appealing against it.

Download the full updated section 33 report here.

back to top

Charity: Loretto School Limited

The charity trustees have implemented measures to remove the undue restriction and on 19 June 2014 OSCR confirmed that the charity meets the charity test.

Following inquiries made under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005, The Scottish Charity Regulator has directed SC013978 Loretto School Ltd under section 30(1)(a) of the 2005 Act to take steps to meet the charity test by removing the undue restriction on obtaining the benefit provided by the charity by 31 March 2015.

Download the full section 33 report.

Charity: Fife Animal Trust

While inquiries are carried out by OSCR into Fife Animal Trust (the charity) under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005 (the 2005 Act), OSCR has taken precautionary action by directing the charity trustees not to sell, transfer, or otherwise dispose of any charitable assets pending further inquiries by OSCR.

Download the full section 33 report.

Charity: Rangers Charity Foundation

OSCR has concluded its inquiry into SC033287 the Rangers Charity Foundation, in agreeing to forego most of its share of the proceeds of a fundraising event between Rangers Legends and AC Milan Glorie held on 29 and 30 March 2012 in favour of The Rangers Football Club plc (In Administration).

Download the full section 33 report.

Charity: Wellington School (Ayr) Limited

Following inquiries made under section 28 of the Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005, The Scottish Charity Regulator has directed SC005052 Wellington School (Ayr) Limited under section 30(1)(a) of the 2005 Act to take steps to meet the charity test by removing the undue restriction on obtaining the benefit provided by the charity by 31 October 2014. The charity has now complied with that direction, and meets the charity test.

Download the full section 33 report.